Update 5th of March 2021; Godspeed You! Black Emperor Pre-Order

This update starts off with a new album announcement from Godspeed You! Black Emperor. The album is coming April 2nd and is available as a CD or LP+10″. Details on the pre-order can be found here.  We have a contest to win the 10″ early by pre-ordering as well. You can also see and listen to a clip of the 10″ on our social media pages.

Here’s the Instagram post:


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Redscroll Records (@redscroll)

New stuff is always coming through the shop. Best way to keep tabs on that is also through Instagram. Here’s the newest stuff from this week:


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Redscroll Records (@redscroll)


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Redscroll Records (@redscroll)

We’ve got a few new employee picks up on the wall.  Check out Pauline Anna Strom, Maral and Maria Teriaeva.

We are also hiring part time. We are accepting applications until Monday, March 8th.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Redscroll Records (@redscroll)

We are still operating at a 10 person max capacity with properly worn mask required (over nose and mouth tight to face) for the duration of the visit and we appreciate the patience of those who have waited in line to get in (can’t mention that enough).  Weekends can get hectic and you should expect to see a line. Monday-Thursday generally are more relaxed.  Hand sanitizer at the door and gloves available for those who want them. This won’t change for the foreseeable future, but hopefully the weather will get better! 

RSR PC 041 Amnesiac, Mahoney & Danny

Amnesiac’s Mahoney and Danny are our guests this month on the podcast. We talk about how much Danny worships the ground Maynard walks on and that’s pretty much it (this is sarcastic and you’ll get it when you listen).  We talk about how Amnesiac came about as a band and what it’s like to be a band right now in the time of Covid 19. We, as usual, start it off by talking about the music we’re listening to!

Danny and Mahoney stand infront of a poster of Gucci Mane chowin' down.
Danny (Left) and Mahoney (Right)

We talk about Gene Simmons and Kiss and also Scorpions.  Honestly, way too much talk about Puscifer, but it’s an entertaining episode so stop reading this and just listen.

Music on this episode

Amnesiac “Insatiable Lust for the Destruction of Love” Our Death Will Be Grand

Dkharmakhaoz “The Way With The Serpent Entwined” Proclamation ov the Black Suns (Iron Bonehead)
Pop Negatif Wastad “Helo Rhywbeth Newyd” Pop Negatif Wastad (Musique Plastique)
Legowelt “Prophet Vector Synth Dazzling in the Sun” Unconditional Contours (-OUS)

John Carpenter “Weeping Ghost” Lost Themes III: Alive After Death (Sacred Bones)
Elori Saxl “Blue” The Blue of Distance (Western Vinyl)
Colossus “Miles Away” Colossus (Triple B Records)
Scorpions “Sails of Charon” Musikladen TV (16.01.1978) 

The God Machine “The Train Song” One Last Laugh In A Place Of Dying (Fiction Records, 1994)

Dollhouse “Summer Love…” Demo (Toxic State Records)

Ostraca “Waiting for the Crash” Ostraca (Skeletal Lightning)

Amnesiac “Our Death Will Be Grand” Our Death Will Be Grand

The Redscroll Podcast is a monthly show (new episodes on the first of the month) that works as a companion to what we do at Redscroll Records in Wallingford, CT USA. We are a record store that has a heavy emphasis on the left of center / underground music of the world. Whether it be underappreciated or just has a niche audience, marginalized or just off the radar it’s all of interest to us. With the show we’ll generally have a localized focus. We’ll discuss what is in our personal rotation at the moment. We’ll talk to guests who have to do with all of the above. And we’ll talk about specific dealings with the store. If you have input you’re welcome to contact us through email (redscroll@gmail.com). Oh, and please do subscribe! New episodes on the first of every month! (Subscribe on Android)(Subscribe elsewhere just by searching for us please!)

19 February 2021 Update / Truth To Power Movie

Hey all!

Been a while since a true update from us. We have a fun movie partnership going on with Oscilloscope LaboratoriesTruth to Power.  “If you have something to say, you should say it loud.” – Serj Tankian [System of a Down vocalist]

Use this link to buy a virtual ticket and to support our shop:

Again, this is the link to buy a virtual ticket and to support our shop:

I’ve been on a big music documentary kick lately so this comes at a perfect time. Definitely come on by and let us know what you thought of it after watching too!

General store update: Continue reading 19 February 2021 Update / Truth To Power Movie

RSR PC 040 Afghan Haze – Randall and John

On this episode of the podcast we talk to Randall (drums) and John (guitar) of Afghan Haze. We talk about their album they recently released and what it’s like doing that when you can’t play a show.

John (left) and Randall (right) of Afghan Haze

We delve into their musical history and proclivities and why they’re cool with releasing their music on their own without a label among various other areas of conversation.

Afghan Haze “Faceless Dogs” Nihilistic Stoner Hymns (Zero Six Recordings) Continue reading RSR PC 040 Afghan Haze – Randall and John

RSR PC 039 Favorites of 2020 Episode

Happy New Year!

On this episode we talk about our favorite releases of 2020. Josh and Rick talk amongst themselves including a list submitted by Caren.  This is our first episode back in action since beginning our move and we glory in the reverb of the new big space!

Below you’ll find our lists. The show follows the lists in the order presented (Caren has some extra content shown here not mentioned on the show). The opening song is Space Camp song that plays a little more later on.

Beyond what we loved from other labels this year we also released 3 records this year that we’re still stoked on; the Space Camp, Landing / Headroom and Chained to the Bottom of the Ocean records all came out great and if you haven’t yet please do check them out! Available in our Big Cartel and in our Discogs shops.

Continue reading RSR PC 039 Favorites of 2020 Episode