All posts by Redscroll Records

Record Store Day Drop 1 Virtual Line Time Slot Sign Up

It is once again time for Record Store Day(s). This year Record Store Day is split into 2 separate drops. The first one is on June 12th and the second is on July 17th.

Today, we are opening sign ups for our virtual line which puts you in a queue for JUNE 12th – the first of the RSD Drop days. July’s virtual line sign ups will begin on a day to be announced after June 12th.

Starting today at noon we’re going to start taking spot reservations for the first RSD Drop on June 12th. To reserve a time slot for RSD browsing please come into the store between now and June 11th to sign up at the front counter (to give your name and phone number). This part has to be done in person. We’re doing this to limit traffic flow for the line sign ups itself and for the RSD Drop day. The appointments will be an hour long and will be maxed out at 15 people per hour. Time slots will start at 8AM and run until 3PM.

Directions for RSD 2021 Drop 1 (June 12th, 2021):
1.  Come to the store and sign up. You may sign up for yourself with your name and phone number. We are also allowing people to sign up for one guest, but we will also be collecting the information of that person as well (name and phone number). If your guest is hypothetical or tentative or any other type of maybe do not sign them up.

2. Show up on June 12th at your designated time and in the order of the sign up sheet we will let you browse and buy from the RSD Drop titles.  RSD titles will be set up in an area separate from the main store and traffic inside the main store will still be limited to 10 people at a time (no appointment needed for that). If you miss your designated time your slot will be forfeit and you will have to wait until after 3PM.

We are not reserving spots by phone, email or any other method so please do not ask. Spots must be reserved in person.

If you know anyone who is a fan of Record Store Day that may not follow us on social media or check our website frequently then please do help us out by spreading the word!

After 3PM on June 12th we will be bringing the RSD Drop 1 titles into the main store. If you’ve missed your appointment you may come at that time, however, we are still only allowing 10 people in the store at a time so please make your best effort to sign up ahead of time and keep your appointment to avoid a line! All of this preparation is being done in order to minimize a crowd and we appreciate all of your help and cooperation to help with that goal!

Masks required, of course. 😷


Pre-Order Available for Phoebe Bridgers “Copycat Killer” 12″

We’ve got  a pre-order for the Mountain Blast color version of the “Copycat Killer” 12″ record from Phoebe Bridgers from Dead Oceans records. Go here to order. 

Release Date: May 14th, 2021

Copycat Killer is a 12″ featuring 4 exclusive new versions of songs from Phoebe Bridgers’ wildly acclaimed Punisher album. Collaborating with arranger Rob Moose (Sufjan Stevens, The National, Bon Iver, Vampire Weekend, Jay-Z), these are brand new orchestral arrangements of the songs Kyoto, Savior Complex, Chinese Satellite and Punisher, all given a luscious revamp that is sure to delight any fans of Phoebe’s album and serve as perfect gateway for new listeners into what makes her one of the most special artists of 2020 and beyond.

RSR PC 042 Ask Us Questions


On this month’s podcast we took questions through Instagram. We talked quickly about RSD and our 14th Anniversary. Questions ranged from why we opened a store in Wallingford to what music got us through this past year. Lots of like-minded questions came in so we generally just answered one of each of those so as to not repeat ourselves.

We also talk about what we’re listening to and there’s some music inserted along the way in the answers to a couple questions. Check it out!

Continue reading RSR PC 042 Ask Us Questions

Pre-Order New Fiddlehead Album

You can pre-order the new Fiddlehead album with us now here:

The Amber Cloud color variant of the Fiddlehead “Between the Richness” LP on Run for Cover Records.

Release Date: May 21, 2021

Fiddlehead wasn’t supposed to make a second record. But, if we’re being totally honest, they weren’t supposed to make their first record either. Formed in what singer Pat Flynn describes as “a deeply, deeply, laughably depressing part of my life,” Fiddlehead was born with modest intentions. Flynn and his then-roommate, guitarist Alex Dow, decided to work on some songs, and with Basement having just broken up, guitarist Alex Henery entered the fold. Drummer Shawn Costa and bassist Adam Gonsalves—who has since been replaced by Casey Nealon—linked up with them and, all together, they wrote what would become the Out Of The Bloom EP. Those five songs established what Fiddlehead would be, a band that merged elements of post-hardcore, post-punk, and classic ‘80s emo into something that felt distinctly theirs.


After the release of their debut album Springtime & Blind, the band did some weekend-long tours, and saw that their music was hitting people harder than they ever expected. “Kids were singing along in a very desperate way and we realized it wasn’t just resonating with us, it was resonating with these people in a really meaningful way,” says Flynn. Springtime & Blind was a hit for many reasons, but chief among them was Flynn’s open-hearted exploration of his father’s passing, which saw him use his lyrics as a means of relating to and understanding his mother’s grief. So when it came time for Fiddlehead to work on a second record, people weren’t just curious what the songs would sound like, they were curious what they’d even be about.


Between The Richness effectively picks up where Springtime & Blind left off, as Flynn dives headfirst into that same subject. But astute listeners will notice a major difference this time: Flynn is singing about himself. “These massive things happened in my life between the first record and this record. It just so happened that I ended up getting married, I had a child, and it was around the 10-year anniversary of my father’s passing. So what if I want to write another record about how I feel about the loss of my father? Will people be like, ‘Pick another topic, dude.’ So, the opening track is called ‘Grief Motif’ because it’s the idea that this is an eternal struggle that will never go away. Take it or leave it, but it will be part of this dude as long as he’s got a pen in the hand.”


Between The Richness explodes with an energy that usurps that of Springtime & Blind. The guitar riffs of Dow and Henery are their most anthemic and combustive yet, making songs like “The Years,” “Get My Mind Right,” and “Down University” not just serve as the backbone for Flynn’s personal ruminations, but empathetic, emotional musical stabs that hit the listener just as hard. Meanwhile, Costa and Nealon give the songs a propulsive heft, allowing a track like “Million Times” to dart into unexpected territories without ever feeling alien.


But at the center if it all is Flynn. He’s a different person than he was on Springtime & Blind, because he’s now a father himself. And that experience colors the journey he goes on throughout the album. “My son’s name is Richard and my father’s name is Richard, so it’s literally between the two of them. But it’s also the richness of life and the richness of death. It was important for me to capture that perfectly paradoxical feeling,” says Flynn. “We started writing this record two weeks after my son was born, and it’s a really great way for him when he’s older—and when I’m gone—to say, ‘My father wrote this in the first year of my life. What does that mean?’” It’s an attempt to put words to that strange place we all exist in, that place between the richness.

• Grief Motif
• The Years
• Million Times
• Eternal You
• Loverman
• Down University
• Get My Mind Right
• Life Notice
• Joyboy
• Heart to Heart