18th Of January 2013 Update

18th Of January 2013 Update of New and Key Restocked Items + Reviews
at Redscroll Records


LPs & 12″s
A$AP Rocky (ASAP Rocky)    “Long.Live.A$AP” (2LP Gatefold + D/L)
Addison Groove    “Adventures In Rainbow Country”
Anstam    “First Sprout EP”
Bambounou    “Cobe EP”
Beck, Thavius    “The Most Beautiful Ugly / The Heavans Bleed Sunshine” (2LP + D/L)
Big K.R.I.T.    “Return Of 4eva”
Blonde Redhead    “23” (+ D/L)
Brokeback    “Brokeback And The Black Rock”
Candlemass    “Nightfall” (Gatefold)
Cheap Girls    “Find Me A Drink Home”
Cheater Slicks    “Reality Is A Grape”
Connors, Loren    “A Fire” (180 Gram)
Converge    “All We Love We Leave Behind” (2LP)
Cox, Kenny    “Clap Clap! The Joyful Noise” (2LP /1000 Gatefold Cover)
Cults    “Cults”
Dear, Matthew    “Fighting Is Futile (Remixes)”
Dettmann, Marcel    “Linux / Ellipse”
Fields, Lee    “Let’s Talk It Over” (Deluxe Edition + D/L)
Flying Lotus    “Cosmogramma” (Gatefold + D/L)
Follakzoid    “II” (+ D/L)
Foxygen    “We Are The 21st Century Ambassadors Of Peace & Magic” (+ D/L)
Gazelle Twin    “Mammal”
Hollow Earth    “We Are Not Humanity”
Holydrug Couple, The    “Noctuary” (+ D/L)
Hot Water Music    “Live In Chicago” (3LP)
Kouyate, Sekou Batourou    “Sekou Batourou Kouyate Et Sa Cora” (180 Gram
Kowalsky, Gregg With Jozef Van Wissem    “Movements In Marble And Stone”
Landing    “Wave Lair”
Latterman    “Turn Up The Punk, We’ll Be Singing”
Legendary Pink Dots, The    “Seconds Late For The Brighton Line” (30th Anniversary  Double LP + D/L)
Low    “Songs For A Dead Pilot”
Low Culture    “Screens”
Major Stars    “Decibels Of Gratitude”
Mountains    “Centralia”
National, The    “The Virginia EP”
Nightlands    “Oak Island” (+ D/L)
Nosaj Thing    “Home” (2LP + Poster & Sticker Ltd. Ed.)
Pants, James / Tom Noble    “Selected Sound Remixes Pt. 1”
Pavement    “Terror Twilight” (+ D/L)
Secret, The    “Agnus Dei”
Short Stories    “On The Way / Let It Go”
Suicide    “Suicide”
Swanson, Pete    “Man With Potential” (+ CD)
Synthetic ID    “Apertures”
Trampled By Turtles / Lucero    “Daytrotter Presents No. 4 Trampled By Turtles & Lucero” (180 Gram)
Various Artists    “Country Funk 1969 – 1975”
Various Artists    “L.I.E.S. Presents: American Noise / Volume One (Sampler)”
Various Artists    “Scattered Melodies: Korean Kavagum Sanjo From 78RPM Records”
Various Artists    “The Crying Princess: 78RPM Records From Burma”
Yo La Tengo    “Fade” (Deluxe) (LP + 7″, + D/L, Numbered) [As of just a few minutes ago we’re now out of this but should have the regular version and maybe some more deluxe copies in for Wednesday.]

At The Drive In    “Vaya” (White Vinyl)
Dag Savage    “The Dag Savage EP”


Men, The    “Electric B/W Water Babies”
XX, The    “Angels / Chained”

A$AP Rocky (ASAP Rocky)    “Long.Live.A$AP”
Bucket Full Of Teeth    “I, II, III”
Death To Tyrants    “Wake Up And Be”
Death To Tyrants    “Castancambernos 1-11 I Am The Sea Two”
Doozer    “Kiss N’ Make Up”
Ghost Of A Saber Tooth Tiger, The    “(Acoustic Sessions)”
Mystical Weapons    “Mystical Weapons” (Greg Saunier Of Deerhoof And Sean Lennon)
Pantha Du Prince & The Bell Laboratory    “Elements Of Light”
Sensations’ Fix    “Music Is Painting In The Air (1974-1977)”
Sinaloa    “Father And Sons”
Various    “L.I.E.S. Presents: American Noise / Volume One” (2CD)
Weapon    “Embers And Revelations”
Yo La Tengo    “Fade”



(Northern Spy)
Describing their sound as “sparkle prog,” “sleepy core” and “kraut punk,” this Brooklyn five-piece (formed in 2008) takes experimental prog/punk to thrilling new levels. I can imagine it being the score for an art film about an apocalyptic circus: opener “the best” utilizes absolutely manic drumming, psyched-out guitar landscapes and a very diverse mix of colorful synth. Front-woman Clara Hunter’s ominously echoing, poetic vocals bring the sound together, with the next track “ie” focuses on loose, more jazz-like instrumentation atop a buzzing synth and fast drumming foundation. The third track proves to be the most relaxing, alternating between a flowery 60s-style electric organ pattern and breaks of gorgeous singing over a low-key guitar. They further demonstrate their diverse tastes on the epic “…7…,” which begins with guitars giving way to Middle Eastern-sounding orchestration, then flourishing into the loudly-rocking guitar, synth, drums and – eventually – Hunter’s luminous vocals. It’s certainly one of the most unique albums that I’ve heard in a while, particularly for its thrill-ride moments.
[Reviewer: Mark]

Matthew E. White Big Inner

(Hometapes / Spacebomb)
Born in Virginia and raised both there and in Manila, Philippines, White’s warm, laid-back indie-folk music sounds much more deeply rooted in the former.  On “One Of These Days,” he calmly croons his romantic reflections to the listener amidst an easy-going tempo of simply a guitar and drum, which soon gives way to blossoming strings, horns and a choir. The next track is my favorite: “Big Love” surprised me by starting with an Air-like rumbling bassline and piano before the catchy chorus and increasingly busy (including backing gospel-like vocals, congas and a saxophone) bring it to its climax. White explores religious themes without sounding polarizing or heavy-handed; in the closer “Brazos,” his repeated statements about Jesus being our Lord and friend could be interpreted in several different ways, but on “Gone Away,” he’s certainly sincere about respectfully asking his young cousin why he had to go up to Heaven too early. White has an open-minded perspective on both the rewards and challenges of life, and it’s refreshing to hear him convey it.
[Reviewer: Mark]

As ever, if you’re viewing from a non-drivable distance please check what we have for sale (these titles and more) at http://www.discogs.com/seller/Redscroll.